Nervous beginner fiddler

Nervous beginner fiddler

Hi All, just wondering what is the lowest standard you can be before joining in on sessions.
I’ve been playing fiddle for about two years, but have long periods of not much practice etc. I can now play about 20 tunes reasonably jigs/reels/slides, I attend a slow session in my music school which are fine but would love to start proper sessions in pubs etc.
Do you think its too early to join in and I should build up my speed/tune list? I don’t want to start annoying people by slowing down their session!
Thanks for all replies

Posted by .

Re: Nervous beginner fiddler

The lowest standard? Some of the sessions I’ve been at you would probably be in charge. The best judge of whether or not to join in is yourself. If there’s a tune you know, join in, if not, listen. And keep practising.

Posted by .

gam said it all. Now watch for another twenty posts saying much the same thing, and not nearly as succinctly.

Join your ears to a session, there’s no limitation there other than a little basic respect and consideration, and a heart for it…

Once you and your ears have a sense of it, then you can start learning some of the local repertoire, and if they’re decent folk, you’ll get asked to contribute too, and they’ll let you have it your way, at a relaxed tempo if you need, without pushing… But there are always exceptions… πŸ˜‰

Good ears, respect, which it seems you already have, and just a few tunes, that’s all you should need, listen well to the rest…

Go to Session’s Now — I went to Miltown Malbay — With 4 tunes on the fiddle when I first started - Oh and an old Hitachi’s Tape recorder, Mic and all… A great Fiddler I new there, Andy Dickson
{ sorry about the name dropping }— Played my only 4 tunes for me
Bless him… But the best thing I done there was ” Watch and Listen ” to what the good fiddlers like Andy where Doing…
jim,,,

Thanks for all your quick replies, Really looking forward to starting now.
πŸ™‚

Posted by .