When is a roll a roll?

When is a roll a roll?

I have seen and heard people pull off the strings on the rolls they make, others just play the notes while some hammer very hard on the extra notes.

So, my question is the following: Do we have different types of rolls in the execution or do they all fall under the classification ‘rolls’. How do you play them?

Gerry O’Connor (the fiddler) plays lovley rolls, what is that he does differently than others?

Your feedback is grealy appreciated as always

The Shylock

Re: When is a roll a roll?

I am not sure about stringed instruments, but on a flute, you have short rolls and long rolls(and other fancy type of rolls like the crann roll and other stuff).

You can kind of slide up to do a long roll, where the roll is very quick. Or you can do a long roll where the cut and tap are accented a little more. The long roll would be equal to the single note with the dot at the bottom there. I think a dotted note? I am not an expert at sheet music, so please forgive my descriptions of the notes. So, a long roll would be: E(cut)E(tap)E. So, in the Banshee, on the first G, you can do a long roll there. G(cut)G(tap)G DED. Also, where there are triplets, it sounds good to use the long roll. But that is on the flute. Triplets sound good on the stringed instruments.

The short roll would be equal to just the normal note. Again, sorry for my lack of words for the notes. It would be more like:
(cut)E(tap)E. It is a very quick roll and flows nicely as well. It also goes well with the single note or the double note, like in the beginning of Tripping Up the Stairs or the Lilting Banshee. You can pull off the short rolls while doing E(cut)A(tap)A EAA

I hope that is more help than confusion.

A roll is a roll, except when it isn’t.

There are lots of ways to do a roll. You can make each note sound a distinct pitch, or they can just be percussive bouncing of fingers off the strings. You can use the standard fingerings for them, or not.