Who have or what has inspired you the most in 2003?

Who have or what has inspired you the most in 2003?

I started playing traditional music later in life and, although I realise that I’ll never become a top notch musician, I am becoming more rather than less determined to carry on playing/improving as the years go by. My first instrument was guitar which I started to play in my teens. At that time, I allowed myself to become too easily discouraged as there was much to learn and so many people who were better. I also worried too much about what my peers thought and, consequently, gave up playing music for several years apart from the odd drunken "sing song" at parties.
Nowadays, it doesn’t matter if I’m never going to be as good as my heroes on the traditional music scene (In the old days, it was Clapton, Hendrix etc but I also enjoyed people like Bert Jansch, Davy Graham etc), I just play for the love of the music and my own enjoyment. I still hear people who, after seeing a remarkable musical performance, threaten to burn/destroy their guitar or fiddle.That’s not me, anymore.

Now, I haven’t yet decided on the answer to this question and I will reflect on the events and personalities of the last year along with the rest of you. It has occurred to me, however, that unfortunate or sad events can also have a positive effect. Recent deaths of friends and people whom I have admired on the traditional music scene have made me realise how important it is to continue playing music. It’s what they would have wished us to do, regardless of our ability. Even the relatively minor setback when I broke my arm has made me more determined and I have been playing/practising all the more since it has healed.

Of course, there are a lot more pleasant experiences and I’ll get back to you with some of those. In the meantime, I’d like to hear from some you.

John

Re: Who have or what has inspired you the most in 2003?