Guitar pain

Guitar pain

Hello everyone,

I apologize for likely re-starting a topic that’s been discussed many times before, but my few searches didn’t yield much, perhaps for bad wording.

Now… I’ve been dealing with a pain in my right arm for awhile now, not sure when it started but I’ve noticed that it’s been getting more persistent when I play guitar, and it’s getting to be harder to ignore.

I think I can safely assume that it’s as a result of how I play guitar… The pain is right at the elbow joint, and gets worst when playing polkas….

Any of you doctor types, or people who know about this stuff please hit me with any info you have about this issue…

Also, please note that I also work at a well-known ice cream store down here, and all that scooping might affect it.

Thanks!

-J

Re: Guitar pain

I’m not a doctor, but I have seen several episodes of House, MD.

All that scooping is bound to affect it. The first Rx is always rest. Ice, two or three time a day, would probably help. Can you scoop left handed?

I could try to scoop left-handed, though it may result in a few unhappy customers for the first month depending how much ends up on the floor or on them….

The thing I can’t remember is if I was dealing with this before I started working there or not, though.

It’s almost certainly the result of tension. Try searching discussions specifically addressing fiddle players’ tension and the effects it has on their playing. There are some excellent techniques to help minimise the bad effects it has on one’s playing, and I’m sure most fo them have been written up here in response to fiddle players and their many issues…

Maybe take some mini-breaks while practicing. Drop your
arm down and let it swing loose from your shoulder for a few
seconds, then resume playing. Do it every five minutes or so.
I seem to remember John Entwhistle of the Who taking that to
the extreme - bet he never had that problem