Holding a session in a school

Holding a session in a school

I work in a school which has timetabled co-curricular time which can be devoted to almost anything. We are all asked to come up with ideas which might encourage students to step out of their comfort zone or to have a go at something they have always fancied doing. I thought that this might be the ideal opportunity to run a traditional music session. There are lots of reasons why this may not be successful but I want to be positive. Does anyone have any experience or advice to offer?

Re: Holding a session in a school

Depending on how permissive the school is, you might want to go easy on the pints.

More seriously, if you have students who play the music, it’s a great idea. It’s less of a great idea if you’re thinking you’ll be teaching them the tunes in that time, but if there are players with a base of material to work with, it seems reasonable.

Yep ! Go for it,, Around Ireland many competitions, practice,and coarse lesson’s,, I had to do one In Ballymoney Primary School Once, ( Co,Antrim ) with other traditional musician’s, more nerve wracking than any Country Pub on a Friday night ,,, There everywhere and all want to play at the same time..

You in for hard work — But it’s well worth it !

jim,,,

Ment to say — { Around Ireland many competitions, practice,and of coarse lesson’s are done in schools’ }

Sorry,, jim,,,

The Scots Music Group in Edinburgh used to run classes after-hours in a school. They hit a huge problem with one classroom. You can’t teach tunes in a conventional school desk layout, so they moved them. Problem was, the desks were square tables with fake wood grain, and the teacher responsible for that classroom was an obsessive who insisted that not only did the desks have to put back in the same place, the woodgrain of each desk had to be lined up the same way, crossways to the room.

After a few years the SMG gave up and found another school to do it in.