48 Bass Piano Accordion

48 Bass Piano Accordion

I started playing the accordion a while ago; I have the lend of a box to practice on….going fairly well.

I was looking to buy one now, and I was looking at a few yesterday. I was quite drawn to the idea of a Walter 48 button accordion, simply because it’s small and compact, looks cool and I don’t really see what you would be missing out on in terms of range…there’s still 2,5 Octaves to play around with which seems more than enough.

I play guitar too, so wanted something handy and easy for carrying.

I would also see the bass buttons available at being sufficient for trad…obviously no Dim9 etc, but I wouldn’t imagine them to be really needed.

Would appreciate a bit of feedback from anyone who had/has one.

Thanks
d.

Posted by .

Re: 48 Bass Piano Accordion

I’m sure that would be perfectly sufficient for what you want to do - if you’re playing with a group you’re going to be using the basses sparingly any ways —-

What does the piano accordion player in Cherish the Ladies play?

Posted by .

48 bass buttons is plenty for trad. You’ll run out of treble keys before you’ll miss the dim7 chords. Most people play accordions with 34 treble keys for trad but the 25 or 28 (what ever it is) on a 48 bass is enough 98% of the time.

thanks dudes

Posted by .

48 bass is not large enough. There aren’t enough notes on both sides and also these size accordions tend to be regarded as childrens’ or learner models so they are usually not very good quality. 72 bass is minimum, you won’t find a half decent player anywhere with less than a 72 bass.

I am going out on a limg. Mirella Murray on the older albums appears to be playing a red Soprani PA. However, we saw her at Catskills last summer an I could almost swear she was plalying a wood PA like Jimmy Keane plays.

She is a superb player.

out on a LIMB

If you’re playing in sessions, forget the bass. It just p!sses people off.