The general tradhead’s opinion of folk groups

The general tradhead’s opinion of folk groups

I’m maybe two years into the trad scene. My family don’t have much experience of it, I got into it through the leaving cert examination where we had to learn about trad, and discovered a world of amazing music previously undiscovered to me. However while I was mainly taught about tunes and their beats etc, it was Planxty/Andy Irvine and Paul Brady that really got me into it so I would say I have more of a love/affinity for Irish folk than tunes. While I love tunes and I love playing with trad players (i play accompaniment on the mandolin as i’m not that good at playing tunes) I feel that they are best utilised in cognito with songs, ala folk groups….. do ye know what I mean? I have been told the playing of tunes has its hidden depths, and i love playing tunes, I couldn’t JUST play tunes.

Furthermore, I would like to know what those raised/experienced in trad feel about folk groups - I don’t really associate the two phenomenons together. When I have asked people I play with if they wanted to form a group to play songs and tunes, their response hasn’t been too enthusiastic, i felt it was something they don’t really associate with.

What do you think?

Thanks
Tim

Re: The general tradhead’s opinion of folk groups

on that note I’d like to add that I play and sing with the five string banjo, which I would feel more confident doing than playing trad, but on that i’m a fairly competent accompanist.

So, you think playing tunes doesn’t have hidden depths? I don’t get it.

Posted by .

Hmm, I expect you should get a few interesting replies to this….not all of them pleasant. Some may tell you that ITM is not folk music, some may even say that it originated in Ireland!

You could look for a song session. Or a tune session where they do more than one or a few songs on a given night.

Posted by .