Well, i started learning ornamentation…

Well, i started learning ornamentation…

I’ve been trying to learn the ornaments on fiddle, and i seem to be struggling to get them to sound as subtle as i often hear them. They say it’s just a "flick of the finger(s)" I’m not sure if i’m hitting the string too hard, or holding my fingers down for a millisecond too long. Has anyone had this problem? Is it even something to worry about? Is this just another thing that will come with time and much, much practice? I am actually learning how to hear ornaments in recordings, which i am very excited about, cause they use to evade me. Now i can actually catch them, hear and there. I can even recognize the different types(the majority of the time) Just having a problem using them.

Re: Well, i started learning ornamentation…

I think you are on to something with your "millisecond too long" comment. Many ornaments interrupt the sound rather than giving an audible note.

I would be happy with a millisecond myself, I’m afraid I can’t advise you on the fiddle, but on the box or even in sports, the biggest problem people have is that their muscles become too tense especially when they are concentrating, which has the effect of slowing you down and throws out your timing.

I’ve said this before. but it’s worth repeating … don’t think of them as ornaments. They are not things you hang on a tune like baubles. They are ways of articulating the tune.

You’ll hear a lot of talk here about the differences between tune, variation (melodic and rhythmic) and ornament. But the truth is that you can’t draw a line between these things. The boundaries are not just blurred, but nonexistent.

It’s good that you are hearing the subtleties of all this.

And you are right in that you shouldn’t worry about it. Just keep your ears open. And you are the most right when you talk of learning how to hear. Master that and the actual playing then becomes a walk in the park.

Posted .