Any Harmonica Players playing Irish music??

Any Harmonica Players playing Irish music??

Hi All,
I have been to Two sessions so far and I am Totally NEW to Irish music, but the "virus" has hit me and I just Love it, playing together and joining in, it’s just Great. But…..
I have a chromatic harmonica, 16 hole in C and I’m practicing on some Irish reels. Just wondering, are there any more chrome-players doing Irish music??? It seems a rather hard instrument to play this type of music… does anyone think different? Thanks!

Re: Any Harmonica Players playing Irish music??

And search Youtube and you should find some vids of them playing - both together and individually

A player here in Moscow 🙂. He went from D and G diatonics to a custom G/F# chromatic, says a ‘high’ D/C# is too expensive. Some nice playing.

In NYC there’s Don Meade – he’s a great player.

Will Atkinson must have played an Irish tune somewhere along the line.

Chromatic in C is tricky, I find. I’ve had some luck reversing the slide and playing tunes in Eb, but that’s probably because I play B/C box, and a C/C# harmonica is a parallel layout.
I’ve had some good results from a G chromatic, but the layout isn’t ideal, to my taste - the doubled root note makes it dificult to navigate. If you’re more used to the chromatic, of course, that’s less of an issue. If you’re keen to play on a chromatic, I’d try D and G.

I get the best results from a standard D diatonic, which suits about 80% of the tunes, or so. It’s only on the tunes that really lean on the C natural that it’s not going to work, and that’s a surprisingly small number. Some people prefer to play on the lower reeds, to match pitch with the fiddles, but I like the quicker response of the higher reeds, so I play exclusively in the middle register on a standard D, and fit in nicely with the whistles.

Your mileage will probably vary.