Is thesession.org a community?

Hey all. I’m doing a PhD on music education and Irish traditional music (University College Cork). I’m doing a section on learning through media & internet and was wondering if ye could help out.

(I realize there are a couple threads similar to this one, but I don’t like using people’s responses unless they know I’m doing a study, ethics are nice!)

1 Questions:
We all converse and get new tunes on thesession.org, but do you consider the website a ‘community?’

Why or why not?

Thanks a million, just let me know if you would like to be left anonymous, otherwise I could use your membership names.

Re: Is thesession.org a community?

No, it’s not a community. For it to be a community you’d first have to describe the internet as an "environment". It’s not.

Posted .

It is a community in the sense that we all share a common interest, but as we are separated in every other regard, I would not describe it as such.
I am often pointed in the direction of new tunes by the comments of members here, which is one of the reasons I participate; but I wouldn’t expect to learn new tunes here. And I wouldn’t say we converse, exactly, as the word has a specific meaning.

Posted by .

Yeah, specifically, "converse" is about speaking. So you’re right there, we don’t even converse.

Rather stymies your Q1 somewhat eh?

Posted .

The session website is not really an internet community of Irish Music lovers.It started out like that.Now its more of a World Roots music haven for the self opinionated.

Posted by .

I recently purchased a couple of CD’s on the basis of peoples recommendations here and have done so likewise before. My opinions have been informed by others who write here and I’ve learnt a few tunes here & there on the basis again of peoples suggestions.