Need Help.. (Bodhran)

Need Help.. (Bodhran)

well, looking for a new bodhran have one but looking to upgrade to a deeper rim.. looking at seamu o kane but any other suggestions.. budget around 180 to 220 euro…

Re: Need Help.. (Bodhran)

PS also wondering whats the best sort of stick?

Eamon Maguire, Belfast.

As for a stick, whatever suits ye.

Ha Ha Ha! Great to see traditional humour alive and well!. But seriously…

I’ve been playing a Seamus O’Kane bodhrán for several years in sessions and paid gigs, his older style with eight tuning blocks rather than his newer single-tensioning system. Recently needed some after-sales service which was excellent and generous. His son Diarmaid was also helpful and also makes excellent bodhráns, maybe better “finished” than his da’s. Been helping his da make bodhrán’s for many years and now making his own.

Best sort of stick is personal taste and style as others have said. I use three - a longish thin ebony (heavy) straight stick is my main tipper. But also use a double-ended trad style tipper with chamois leather covering the ends (adapted by me) for some tunes, and a home-made brush-type tipper made of several lengths of very thin dowel bound together. Again, better suited to some tunes and good for a bit of variety in sound.

Traditionalist jokers may be amused to hear recent maintainance on bodhrán involved the use of a penknife.

\())

As said - S. O’Kane, Eamon Maguire, Brendan White are good bets, I have the two former, the Maguire one for 17 years so i can vouch for them. Have a Brendan White in the mail. : )
as for sticks you’re on your own.. Took me a couple of years to find “my” stick (type)

A deeper rim’s not necessarily an upgrade in itself, IMO.

Your choice? Maguire or O’Kane. Very different animals, though, in terms of character.