Fiddle Tunes

Fiddle Tunes

Hi folks, I recorded myself playing 3 reels on the fiddle.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mDN7F0ZZ13c

I’ve been playing fiddle since last November (2010) but have played traditional Irish music since early ‘09 on bodhran, guitar and 6 string banjo.

I don’t know the name of the first tune, I have learned it by listening to a recording of friends playing it so if anyone knows it do let me know! The second is Miss Monaghan’s and the 3rd is, by my expectation, a poor rendition of Cregg’s Pipes, I always make an exponentially larger number of timing and phrasing mistakes on video it would seem.

Anyway would much appreciate your feedback, however negative it might be.

Paudy

Posted by .

Re: Fiddle Tunes

You’re very brave, Paudy! My fiddle playing after a few months led to protest marches from the neighborhood cats - you’re doing much better. The first tune is Trip to Birmingham.

ha! Cheers for the tune name! My fiddle learning journey co-incided with me finishing my PhD thesis so I have spent many full days playing since then, filling in the void as it were

Posted by .

‘Wasn’t the Trip to Birmingham itself a protest march?’

Definitely not! Josie McDermott composed the tune to commemorate the time when he and Peg McGrath travelled to the city to adjudicate at the All-England Fleadh.

Posted by .

Joke, son, that was a joke.
You know, like with the funny and the ha-ha? One of them.

I saw that the Trip to Birmingham was also known as Josie McDermott’s allright

Posted by .

Apologies, Jon,

I’d forgotten that you were such a great comedian.

Posted by .

I guess I’m not getting any feedback

Posted by .

I would consider yourself lucky then

On the contrary, my first post said

"Anyway would much appreciate your feedback, however negative it might be."