C#D Button Accordion & Comhaltas

C#D Button Accordion & Comhaltas

My child has been playing C#/D button accordion well for two years.I contacted a branch of Comhaltas enquiring about lessons and was told if we joined their group my child would be starting as a complete beginner learning B/C accordion!
The notion of learning C#/D button accordion was scoffed at!

After two years learning with Conor Keane & Brendan Begley at The Willie Clancy Festival,Miltown Malbay, among children playing C#/D and B/C accordions in the one class,this attitude is dissappointing.Should we move west?

Re: C#D Button Accordion & Comhaltas

In all fairness, Gracie, CCE is largely a voluntary organisation and it may just be that whoever teaches box in your local group only has expertise on B/C.
If I were you and my child was getting on well on the C#/D or whatever, I’d definitely let them stick at it. Just use the Willie Week resources and whatever else you can find - local musicians with open minds. Tunes are tunes, doesn’t matter what you play them on.

Posted .

"The notion of learning C#/D button accordion was scoffed at!" THAT is the sad part of this tale.

Just remember that it’s not that long ago that CCE also scoffed at most of the Donegal & Kerry Music, not permitting much of it to be played at their silly competitions.

They also scoffed at many of the instruments which are commonly used to play Irish Music today, but eventually they came around & allowed them to be used too.

The important thing to remember here is that CCE aren’t the be all & end all of Irish Music, they are but a side show.
So I trust you will make sure that your daughter sticks to her guns & you find a good C#/D tutor for her.

I play with a brilliant C#/D player every week & I just love the lively attack you get from those great boxes.

The Repeal of the Union and James Byrnes:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhj_l9M1u8s