Flute and trumpet?

Flute and trumpet?

Hello, all. I know this is a weird kind of post, but I’m hoping someone can help me. You see, many moons ago, I used to play the trumpet and was quite good at it. For reasons too complicated to go into, I had to quit and was without music up until 3 years ago when I started learning ITM on the whistle. Well, now I have a bit of a hankerin’ to learn jazz trumpet again, but I don’t want it to ruin my flute embouchure. I suspect that playing the trumpet will do just that, but a friend of mine said that he knew a guy who was able to play both trumpet and saxophone (which would pose a similar problem, I would think). So, does anybody know of anybody who can play both the trumpet and the flute and do both pretty well? I really don’t want to have to learn jazz on the flute, because, well—I just don’t. Please let me know if you have any thoughts.

Re: Flute and trumpet?

I know that this goes against conventional wisdom, but I think it’s fine to do both.

When I was big into the classical flute-playing game in school, I used to play a bit of trombone (the mouthpiece bit, as it happens). Though it’s a looser embouchure than the trumpet, it still gave my lips a good workout; I used to play about 5 minutes of trombone before going into flute exams, because I felt that it ‘over-prepared’ me to play flute, and playing with a good tone seemed easier for a while after. What I made up in that way was lost in the long haul, however, it had a noticeable effect on my endurance.

So I say go for it - I mean, except for the fact that it’s a brass instrument (ewww!). Just make sure you give your flute embouchure plenty of playing time so that your lips don’t reconfigure themselves entirely.

Posted by .