Low D whistle for smaller hands

Low D whistle for smaller hands

I’m looking into buying a low d whistle, and was wondering if anyone knew which ones are a bit better for small hands? I’ve played around on two different ones before, and was able to reach on one but not the other.

Ta!

Re: Low D whistle for smaller hands

You really expect to be able to play an instrument after "playing around" on it for a bit?

Posted .

I don’t think he implied that, llig. I didn’t infer it from his post, anyway.

*he (or she)
*his (or her)

I have small hands as well and haven’t found a low D whistle I couldn’t comfortably play using a pipers-style grip. What sort of issues did you have with the two you previously tried?

I have no ergonomic issues playing my current Copeland low D or the Burke low D I previously owned.

just duck tape the top and bottom holes but don’t flatten them or sharpen them, i have small hands and so needed to cut the reach too

I have many years of experience on an open-holed instrument,
but I can’t ‘play around’ on any low whistle. If I ever buy one,
I’ll have to practice doing piper’s grip. I suspect it will be the same
for you, baobhanta. When I started on flute, it took a few months
until I could stretch my right hand enough for a ‘normal’ grip,
but low whistle spacing is even worse.

Well, the Walt Sweet (not Ralph) Onyx has much closer spacing on the lower hand and the ability to rotate the upper and lower hand sections to get the best match for the user.

That said though I do think the learning pipers grip will make any Low D work for most folks. Check out what is said at Chiff and Fipple about all of that.

don’t certain makers of low whistles have whistles that are specially made for people with smaller hands?

I have yet to run across a low D I couldn’t play in pipers grip. It did take me a while to get used to pipers but it’s worth taking the time to learn it.