Touring Musicians

Touring Musicians

Hey everyone

Just wondering how many people out there are professional musicians and make their living either touring or from recording/collaborating?

Matty

Re: Touring Musicians

I worked in the bars for a few years. Never toured, and never made a living at it, but I always managed to get paid fairly for my time. I’m still a member of A.F. of M., so I suppose I’m a professional in one sense. (I love the union, but I have to think it’s funny that they define "professionals" as coextensive with their membership)

I used to, Matty, but then got married. Sigh! I do miss it.

Life as an amateur is much more fun

Posted .

Does your playing and knowledge of the music improve by going professional or at least by forming a band and doing regular gigging? i.e increased discipline, feeding off other musicians, exposure to other bands’ material through "top flight" sessions etc or can you learn as much yourself and from your mates at the local session? Obviously, you should be at a certain standard before thinking about going professional but I’m wondering if you take an even bigger leap forward musically thereafter. I’ve known some musicians and singers who have "gone professional" and their confidence and repertoires (sometimes their heads too) have appeared to increase no end.

John

hmmm…. interesting point, a few advantages to playing proffesionally i’ve found are, sleeping in, being able to spend more time cooking and having a whole load of time to practise during the day as long as you can pull yourself away from the computer!

It does have a few downsides, sometimes there are dry patches which means unsubscribing from the wine club for a month or so, but they usually don’t last too long….