Summer school for beginning children

Summer school for beginning children

Hi,

Just to know if anyone knows a summer school of Irish traditional music, where they have children classes for beginners. My daughter is 8 and follows a classical training in viola, and I think she would enjoy starting a folk training in fiddle.

Thanks a lot in advance,

Robinson

Re: Summer school for beginning children

That’s a really interesting title for a thread 😉

You’re well named, Randy Andy!

On topic, there’s a good few ‘summer schools’ for Irish trad where children are very welcome. Scoil Samhradh Willie Clancy in Clare is the best known but they discourage complete beginners in any instrument except pipes. In practice though, our children have attended both whistle and concertina ‘beginner’ classes there with only a rudimentary grasp of their instruments and got on fine. If your daughter already plays a stringed instrument and has a go beforehand on the fiddle, I’d reckon she’d be grand. Quite large numbers attend this and classes are run in group format.

There’s a good few other festivals which offer exactly the same with smaller numbers: South Sligo, Tubbercurry and Achill and Joe Mooney in Drumshanbo etc. All week long festivals as far as I know with several other weekend ones.

Posted .