Fiddle Skills

Fiddle Skills

I’ve been playing fiddle for just under 2 years and this year I am determined to make some serious improvements. As well as being able to play along with others at speed at regular sessions I would like to improve my musical skills, for example to be able to:

- Play some more challenging ‘party pieces’ - classical/popular as well as ITM
- Be able to play Vibrato
- Develop a better ear (I still can’t really tune by ear and learn 95% of tunes by dots)

Having searched the archive here there seems to have been a lot of heated debate about the use of scales, arpeggios and etudes in developing skills as a player. A lot of these discussions always seem to strongly distinguish Fiddle vs Classical Violin. The thing is, I want to be a better musician and be able to apply all the best techniques from whatever style. After recently listening to my fiddle being played by a really good classical performer I was blown away by how good the instrument could really sound. Starting the instrument at 40+ I will never play in the BBC Philharmonic, nor is that where my real interest lies, but I don’t want to limit myself to one type of music.

How useful are scales and exercises in developing musical skills (in particular, fiddle)? and and do you all see yourselves as ITM Players or just as a musicians??

Sorry for the long ramble, thanks in advance for your thoughts on this ..

David

Re: Fiddle Skills

Uh oh…

Do you have a teacher? If not, find one.
Music is made up of notes moving stepwise (scales), and skips (arpeggios), so yes, they can be helpful.
When students come to me needing help with their school orchestral music, like a Mozart sonata in G, then, yes, they get to do G major scales and arpeggios as part of their warm-up.
As for vibrato…. I repeat, find a teacher. Once one "learns" crap vibrato, it’s hard to unlearn.