The Sluggish Left Hand

The Sluggish Left Hand

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to whistle playing - although I have played wind instruments for years. Can anyone suggest ways to improve the absolutely abysmal sluggishness of my left hand?

I can manage half decent (in my mind - pretty awesome) rolls, cuts and taps with my right hand (and the ring finger of my left hand), but man, rolls and cuts on either A or B (on a D whistle) are a nightmare.

I’d love to hear from veterans what the solution might be. Are there exercises? How can I improve?

Of course, quickly would be best!

Peace
~Dim

Re: The Sluggish Left Hand

Yeah. Forget the rolls for a bit. Do individual cuts and taps. Over and over. Then, after a bit, play an A, followed by a cut and then a tap. Do this for quite some while - a month maybe? - and do it for the B also, and only then try and put the cut and the tap together. Keep the rhythm and, very gradually, play it a little faster. But don’t hurry this stuff.

BTW, your left hand is unlikely to be sluggish. A pal of mine, some years ago (10 years maybe), when I was complaining of ‘lack of dexterity’, got me to hold the whistle and then said "Right. Now waggle your fingers as fast as you can. See? No lack of dexterity there!" He was right. Your hand probably isn’t sluggish - it’s just a question of control.

Posted by .