What have your students taught you?

What have your students taught you?

Particularly for those who teach, I’m intrigued to know what you have specifically learned from your students. This could be either generally (attitude, for example) or specifically (technique, for example).

After playing some music just now (while waiting for my pc to boot up) I had the sudden realisation that my technique has changed for the better thanks to working with / demonstrating ideas to young players and getting them started with hand positions that work well for them.

And more generaally, in my experience the best thing about teaching is that it’s a two-way street, so you learn from your students.

I have some other bits to add but I would love to know, if you teach, what have you learned from your students?

Re: What have your students taught you?

I’ve been teaching for over 30 years, and it has taught me to evaluate and examine everything I do…what, how, and why, for starters. I’m better for it.

I hate it when a student learns a tune that I don’t know or plays a tune that i was teaching better than me.

(Deep down I love it really it, it shows that my effort wasn’t wasted)

I love it when we get really stuck with learning how to do something, and I ask the student, and they come up with amazing ideas which work for them. For example, for an exam I had to help a 7-year-old learn to read the bass clef, and after asking her what would make it fun for her, she devised a musical treasure-hunt where she could go and find the correct notes as I played them (we do a lot of ear / memory / harmony work too, so this was an easy next step for her).

Very inventive, though, and now I use her “game” with other students.

Ditto Greg’s sense of self-evaluation. And then explaining it to others teaches us how to articulate what we know, ever finding new ways to explain things, which in turn refines our own understanding.