Questions about Fiddle & Irish music

Questions about Fiddle & Irish music

Hi everybody, I’m new here and I have a few questions about Irish music and the fiddle.
I’m just starting to learn how to play the violin and I’m so exited about it. The reason I started playing is mainly because I love this kind of music so much.
The thing is I’m from Argentina and as you’d expect there’s not many people that plays this kind of music. I’m learning with a teacher, but he’s a classical musician, so I’m learning classical music and a more classical style to play (if that’s even a thing).
I was wondering if you have any advice for me now that I’m learning, I really wouldn’t want to find out in a few years that I have to re-learn a bunch of things just because I learnt them in a different way when I started.
So that’s basically it, I’m looking for a few pointers since I’ll have to learn your music by myself.
I hope my english wasn’t so bad!
Thank you! :)

Re: Questions about Fiddle & Irish music

listen to music from more than 30 years ago.learn as much by ear.phrasing is the most important thing.look at sean nos dancers.keep listening to the music and enjoy.It will take years to find the music in the tunes .have fun.

Thalendrah, you can learn good basic technique from a classical teacher, but you may also learn stuff you don’t need, and some stuff that you’ll need to unlearn later. For example, Irish fiddlers don’t typically use vibrato on every note. Also, many classical teachers spend a lot of time right at the beginning on using long bow strokes, from frog to tip and back. It’s actually easier to play using shorter bow strokes, mostly in the middle or top thirds of the bow, and many Irish fiddlers use mostly shorter bow strokes when playing jigs, reels, and other dance tunes.