How Did You Learn To Play By Ear?

How Did You Learn To Play By Ear?

I started playing music at 32 yrs old w/ no prior instrument experience and no prior listening to Irish trad. Just decided one day to start out of the blue after visiting Ireland. I use the notation on this site to memorize the tunes. Would like to some day learn a tune by ear just from listening to a recording and not looking at notation. How did you learn to play by ear? Any tips?

I go to sessions but I can rarely tell what key a tune is in if I don’t know that information already.

Re: How Did You Learn To Play By Ear?

Start by picking out tunes you know, I started with Christmas Carols, ingrained from the school years. Then just practice :)

Lilting helps develop an ear for things.

There aren’t really any shortcuts to learning by ear. It’s a lot of hard slog but eventually things start to click.
I learnt to play by ear out of necessity. In the good old days there was no Internet if you wanted to learn some Rolling Stones song - well you could buy a book and find arranged for pianoforte. Or you could listen to the record over and over again until what you heard on it was what you were playing.
The great thing about playing by ear is that the ability transfers to other instruments. So I can pick up a fiddle and pick out a tune even though I don’t play the instrument. I don’t need to know the names of the notes I’m playing and most of the time don’t think about that. What I am thinking about is the tune in my head and recognising that to get the next interval I need to put my finger there.
Try playing Twinkle Twinkle starting on a random note. Trial and error eventually gets you there. Try the same starting on another random note. Again you eventually get there. As time goes on you get there quicker and quicker. But you have to stop relying on sheet music and stop thinking about the names of the notes. Think about their sounds and the relationships between them.