Self taught? ~ What does this mean? What does it mean to you?

Self taught? ~ What does this mean? What does it mean to you?

~ a balanced, measured, considerate and more open ended approach to this topic…

Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea culpa!!! For my previous sins of swagger 🙁 ~
https://thesession.org/discussions/31471

Re: Self taught? ~ What does this mean? What does it mean to you?

Well I have a relative who can play to a good standard on mandolin and never took one lesson ever . He got it as a gift and has been playing and practicing with out the aid of a teacher so i think the whole self taught thing is true , meaning learning by yourself with the aid of online resources or music on a CD . Of course one has to have resources such as the session , YouTube, music books or fingering charts to learn so technically you aren’t teaching yourself how to play completely on your own , but that’s just my opinion.

Learning to play without formal instruction from a teacher.

sometimes attending workshops, sometimes not.

Personally, I dislike the term ‘self-taught’ because it fails to give credit to all the listening you have to do to pick up this style of music. If you learn sitar listening to Ravi Shankar, or jazz piano listening to Thelonious Monk, you have to credit those individuals for shaping your musical thought whether you ever sat down in a room with them or not. Same with hearing Martin Hayes or Tommy Peoples or Matt Molloy or whoever. In my experience, often those who use the term ‘self-taught’ will have an inflated view of ‘self’ that fails to acknowledge, not only those whom they listened to and emulated, but those who helped them and encouraged them along the way. ‘No man is an island’.

It means learning to do something the way you want to do it by any available means, as opposed to faithfully (or blindly) following set instructions from a third party.