At How many Hz do you tune your Violin ?

At How many Hz do you tune your Violin ?

Tuning my Violin at 440 Hz : I was not happy with !

I decided to go down by 3 Hz, for example 437 Hz, 434 Hz , 431 Hz etc. I found I got the best sound at about 430 Hz or 432 Hz.

My Question is : Is the Violin Quality that makes it necessary to fine tune differently than 440 Hz ?

Maybe an expensive Violin that is very good, offers the best sound at the official 440 Hz !

What is your opinion ?

I wish to learn the Irish Folk Songs. Please recommend me to a shop. Thank you.

Cheers from Mauritius.
Judex (Learner Violinist).

Re: At How many Hz do you tune your Violin ?

Judex,

I’m by no means an expert on violins although I play the fiddle but here’s a few points to consider….

It might be worth while getting it checked out by somebody more experienced, e.g. a luthier, your local music shop, or a good player. Various aspects of the set up, bridge position etc, type of strings etc can affect the tone.

Also, if you are using an electronic tuner(Many people here would argue against them) make sure it’s accurate. It’s also better to actually bow the strings than pluck them when checking against a tuner as the resulting note will be different.
I personally find that the older style tuners with a microphone rather than clip on variety are better for tuning the violin.
Although I do user a tuner myself, I still find that I have to “fine tune” by ear especially when playing with other people or in a session. It is essential to be in tune with other players as well as yourself.

Having a good bow and being able to use one properly (and well) can also make a great difference to the tone. Again, if you are a beginner, seek advice on this.

There may well be times when you wish or need to play at a different pitch from standard tuning, sometimes with other musicians as I mentioned, but the soundor tone should still be OK at 440Hz .