Playing ability changes with environment

Playing ability changes with environment

Okay, so this has been frustrating me for a while now. When I play at home, I reckon I’m getting on okay. In tune, in time, confident, and it’s not like I’m a beginner. I gig at least once a week and have done for ages. Sort of the same thing when I gig or session with people I really get on with. However, put me in a session with people that I am not comfortable with, or who I am very conscious are much better than me, and every note I play seems to be out of tune and out of time and I feel as though I’m just pissing everyone off! I suppose I’m just venting, as I’m sure (/hope) it’s all in my head; just wanted to get some reassurance that its not just me!

Re: Playing ability changes with environment

It is not just you and its all in your head…

Posted by .

Very much so and I’m sure it happens to everyone even the more experienced or professional players which is probably one of the reasons they are often reluctant to play under certain circumstances.

Some venues and pubs are just more relaxing than others, the acoustics may be better and, likewise, the audience or punters, general ambience etc.

It also depends a lot on the company and the combination of players. If there’s "a certain spark", then you will probably play better or feel more inclined to do so.

However, I’d say that it’s not just in sessions with players who are obviously better that this happens. On many occasions, my playing seems to improve there possibly because I have more confidence that I’m doing it right if I can manage to fit in OK.
Believe it or not, I’m more likely to fall apart when I’m in the company of more mediocre or even poor players or, at the very least, my efforts tend to be a little lacklustre.

Also, if one or more people in the session are having an "off night" or are "less bothered" than usual, then this can be very catching too.