ABC format?

ABC format?

Hi,

I’m new to playing traditional tunes but not new to music, I’ve played violin and piano for many years.

Firstly I’d like to say what a marvellous resource this website is.

However, what in the world is this ABC business? I’m trying to find the music for simple little tunes and I see people commenting things like "try playing |gabg a (3bag ba|"……

Why in the name of God have people tried to reinvent music notation???

Posted .

Re: ABC format?

The site has a function for displaying sheet music from the abcs… Just not for that particular comment ~
https://thesession.org/tunes/277#comment1077
"The Britches"
Posted by Will Harmon on September 7th, 2001

Posted by .

So that we can send tunes to each other over the internet.

Posted by .

For tunes you can find a button that says "sheet music," which will give you a standard notation of the tune. ABC notation is a useful way to notate things such that someone can type up a tune without having a music notation software like finale or sibelius on their computer. Some people find it easier to read as well, it seems to be common in the traditional and folk communities…

Why Not. It is a universal tab.

So how would you convey music snippets in the form of "try playing |gabg a (3bag ba|"?
Commit the dots to paper, scan it, upload the image to a file-sharing platform and provide the link? …
Hm, no… in the name of whatever, ABC notation seems to have some advantages, which are discussed in length here (for example): https://thesession.org/discussions/31901 ;~)

Edit: kind of cross posted a few times… so, what has already been said.

Hi Wes

I guess the simple answer is it’s easy and it works!

All you need is a pen and paper. In it’s basic form it can be read by anyone. It’s particularly suited to traditional tunes with just a melody line. It lends itself well to the modern digital world of computers, email, smart-phones, search engines etc.