Vibrato!

Vibrato!

Ive been playing the fiddle for, coming up two years, im really keen and do practice alot. in general im well content with my progress as ive been self taught till now except some assistance from my girlfriend who studies music.
Of late ive been experimenting with vibrato but usually find that 1. i end up shaking the whole fiddle or
2. i lose track of what im actually playing
generally i think my right hand is too tense and needs to relax alot more. im well aware that 2 years is only a short time but i am of the view that the sooner i start practicing it, the sooner it can be mastered, especially with it being such a fundamental element of slower tunes.
any suggestions?
whats the best? just moving your hand or allowing the whole wrist to wave?
advice much appreciated cheers!

Re: Vibrato!

Mike, relaxation and control are the keys. Vibrato is a complex subject in its own right - there are very many kinds of vibrato and ways of doing it - and it’s not the easiest thing to teach over the internet. For the best results you’ll need personal lessons from an experienced teacher.
But to start with, concentrate on good intonation and good quality of tone. When you get those right then vibrato will come that more readily.
Trevor

Hi Mike,

If you are trying vibrato for the first time I would advise you to do so on long single notes before you try to incorporate it into tunes, this way yo can concentrate fully on the technique. You’ll find you have a favourite vibrato finger at first (mine was the third) so concentrate on that one for a while.

Vibrato comes from the wrist so your elbow should remain pretty still. You mentioned that you "end up shaking the whole fiddle" - try standing up and resting the scroll of your instrument against a wall lightly to steady it. Also, don’t be too vigorous until you start to get it sussed.

Cheers

FMF

ps let me know if this is any help (or ifI haven’t been too clear!)