Learning banjo

Learning banjo

I recently dug up my dad’s old tenor banjo while cleaning out the basement at my parents’ house, and I’d like to learn to play it. I have absolutely no idea where to start though, and I was wondering if anyone could recommend some resources or learning materials for an absolute beginner. Any advice (besides "find the nearest bin and toss it") would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Re: Learning banjo

If it’s a book/cd that you’re looking for, you might try this one.

http://halshawmusic.co.uk/irtenor.html

Plent of resources on the internet, of course. Just Google: "tenor banjo tutorial".

But firstly, if that banjo is been lying in a basement for years, the strings are likely to be shot. So invest in a new set of strings (change them one string at a time).

Are you confident about tuning it (e.g. by reference to a tuning fork or other known pitch source?) If not, you might consider buying one of those clip-on tuners.

Good luck!

You might need to do more than just change the strings-depending on the condition of the instrument it might need a new head(drum head or skin) and a set-up; at the very least check the bridge placement for intonation. None of this is rocket science and a lot of information is available on-line so if you are handy(or daring) you could try it yourself.
In addition to Mix’s recommendation Enda Scahill’s books are very good
http://www.endascahill.com/the-tutors.html
and Gerry O’Conner has a method book out too. I haven’t used it but how bad could it be?

In case you want to play Irish music on it, you may want to get a set of GDAE strings rather than CGDA. Not that the latter makes it impossible for Irish tunes, but for most of us, it makes sense to use the same tuning and fingerings as fiddle/mandolin.

Get gerry o conner’s book