Best Strings for Fiddle

Best Strings for Fiddle

Hello all,
i have been playing fiddle for over 25 years and every now and again take the notion to try new stings on my fiddle. I usually revert to dominants but have experimented with helicore spirocore. What do others prefer and why?

Johnny

Re: Best Strings for Fiddle

I’ve been using Prim’s lately, and like them. They’re very bright and seem to last quite a long time.

Before the Prim’s I used Helicore’s.

On my acoustic fiddle : Corelli Crystals, cheaper than Dominants, quite a soft tone. Synthetic core. Good on a cheap fiddle, if that’s what’s you’ve got.

The best I ever used (and still use them) are Obligatos, sweet bright tone, but very expensive. Synthetic core.

I use Dominants on my Yamaha SV200 electric.

Jim

Infelds Steelcore those are some great strings.

Posted by .

What kind of sound do you want?

As Zina says, it depends on what kind of sound you want, and also on the fiddle itself - and not forgetting the bow (a critical component in tone production).

No two fiddles are the same and a string set-up that suits one may not suit another (which is why I’m not going to mention the Infeld Reds I’m currently using). Advice from an experienced luthier should be sought, otherwise you could find yourself embroiled in expensive experimentation.

For a fairly detailed run-down of the major string brands and their playing properties have a look at this page on the Ifshin Violins website: http://www.ifshinviolins.com/features_guide.html

Don’t forget that new strings can take up to a week or more to settle in and develop their tone. Some strings can sound very bright and scratchy when new, but a couple of weeks later they’re fine.
Trevor

Larsen strings seem to be the favorite for many pro’s around here for all-round use.

But they are expensive, and don’t do the E-string justice.

Lars.