are self taught musicians/ear musicans’ better than those who can read and write music.?

are self taught musicians/ear musicans’ better than those who can read and write music.?

I have been thinking about this for some time.
in my opinion’ people who are self taught’ have a special gift.
they have the ability to imitate other musicians.
I am not saying that this is right or wrong’ but you can pick up a tune a lot faster when you are self taught.
the idea of someone telling a person how to play music’ does not appeal to me.
maybe this is because I am self taught myself.
I never went to anyone for lessons.
I listened to other musicians’ and after listening to them 2 or 3 times’ I could do a near perfect imitation of the tunes they played.
self taught musicians also feel proud of what they can do.
you need a very good ear’ to be able to imitate someone else.
however’ the upside is’ that musicians who are no longer with us’ live on because some people can just take them off’ or imitate their style.
is being self taught’ a good or a bad thing.?
what do other members think.?

Re: are self taught musicians/ear musicans’ better than those who can read and write music.?

"Self taught" just means you were taught by someone who didn’t know the subject matter. 🙂

A good teacher will get you there faster, with fewer blind alleys and rabbit holes to fall into. But in the end, nobody gets anywhere without a lot of motivation and hard work. It still comes down to the individual.

Re: are self taught musicians/ear musicans’ better than those who can read and write music.?