Cost of Violin Lessons?

Cost of Violin Lessons?

I’ve recently been bitten by the ITM bug and have been learning the tin whistle, utilizing free online schools. I have been playing the great highland bagpipes for 12 years and for most of that time I had weekly lessons with a tutor. Now that I’ve decided to jump in with both feet and finally learn the violin (something I’ve always wanted to do!) I’ve had a bit of a surprise when contacting local tutors and finding what they charge for lessons.

This led me to wondering if this is a local problem of mine or if it’s more widespread. Knowing that The Session is a global site I thought to post this message and ask what do people pay for violin lessons? I’m not trying to slam tutors in any way, shape or form. I’m just curious what the going rate is for a beginning violin student around the world? I’m looking at having to pay twice my own hourly wage for a 55 minute lesson.

Re: Cost of Violin Lessons?

In the US you could pay anywhere from probably $30 to $70 for an hour of violin instruction. Substantially less for a group class, but with that much less personal attention…

why is it such a problem that you have to fork out good money for lessons on something as technically challenging as a violin?

Posted .

D.J.F. Sorry I wasn’t clear, but it’s NOT a problem for me to fork out good money for lessons on something as technically challenging as a violin. I was asking what the going rate is for tuition, nothing more, nothing less, because I was surprised at the prices I was finding where I live.

Again, I’m not slamming tutors and their prices in any way, shape, or form.

Violin teacher here! I charge $60/hr for private lessons and $25/90m for group lessons

But if you take from me, you get 2 free recitals/year, all the various jam sessions and other group playing opportunities, discounts on supplies and strings from my shop and other perks