Calluses

Calluses

Hi, This is my second time around playing the fiddle. I started playing again last year and decided that this time was going to be different-regular practice, everyday for at least an hour, develop good technique etc. and apart from a few missed days early on I’m proud to say I’ve stuck to it and am now well in the habit. After a few months I developed a very large calluse on my left hand where my hand rubs the neck. I had one before but it was nothing like this! After a couple of hours playing it gets really sore and I’m forced to stop, which is frustrating if things are going well. Is this something that will stop eventually or is there something I can put on it? Any advice would be welcome.

Re: Calluses

Exactly where on your hand is it, and are you sure it is a callus (which don’t usually get sore)?

Posted by .

Basically on my left hand, first knuckle where I hold the fiddle

Are you bending your wrist so that it isn’t touching the neck? Do you feel tension in your hand when you hold the fiddle? Something’s definitely wrong. If your doing all of the above, I’d suggest you check with your doctor. Keep us posted & hope this works out soon.

thanks for the concern Marcia but I dont think I need a doctor.

You should definitely get it looked at, if you have serious pain. But I might have had what you’re talking about. I still have a bit of a bump on the edge of my hand, at the base of the first finger, opposite the thumb—same spot you describe, I think. It used to be bigger, but it is almost gone now. The doc said it was a "ganglion cyst" and, while surgery technically could be done, it generally wasn’t. Because it would probably mostly go away on its own, in time. Which it did, gradually.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ganglion_cyst (Note that some people just bash them with a book!)