Modern tunes vs. Trad. tunes: sheet music and sessions

Modern tunes vs. Trad. tunes: sheet music and sessions

Hello everybody. First of all, excuse me for my poor english.

I would like to know TheSession.org’s members opinion about adding new tunes. I registered on this site a couple of days ago but I’ve been an user for years. TheSession.org has been very helpful for me, allowing me to find both sheet music for tunes I wanted to learn, and the name of those I learnt in sessions.

I’ve been attending sessions for 7 years almost weekly, so I’m aware of the "rules" of a session. The problem is, there’s no "fresh blood". I live in a country with zero tradition in Irish traditional music (Spain) and it’s hard to find people interested in joining a session us and share some tunes and beer; people here uses to hear the so-called "celtic" music.

When I started playing Irish music, I grabbed some recent recordings and learnt the tunes. In time, I’ve "developed" a taste for the most traditional ones, at the point I only like to play traditional tunes at the sessions (e.g. Out On The Ocean, Kesh jig, The Musical Priest, Banish Misfortune, etc.) but I’m aware it’s pretty hard for "newbies" to get introduced into Irish traditional music without "tasting" the newest recordings. On the other hand, I’ve read another discussion where some members complained about people adding not-for-session tunes. It is not my intention to confuse the visitors of this site. In fact, this site has an useful option to view the most popular tunes — and should be used for those who want to learn tunes played worldwide.