Texas fiddle style/tunes?

Texas fiddle style/tunes?

Hello!
(This is my first time on this site in like over two years, bloody hell. Last time I came on here it was like murky orange everywhere)

I’ve been asked to play at a friend’s wedding in August. His exact words were "Will you play mad fiddle for my wedding?", and I said "totally!". I’d been planning to play some Irish and Scottish stuff (cos that’s what I know best) and some klezmer (cos it’s a Jewish wedding). But I just realised now - the girl my friend is marrying is from Texas, so I would love to give a musical nod to the bride and her family by playing some tunes from there.

Is there a style of fiddling that’s specific to Texas? I know a couple of Old-Time tunes, but as far as I know, they could be from anywhere in America. I’ve heard that Texas likes to be a little distinct from the rest of the U.S., so I’d expect them to have their own fiddle style, no? πŸ˜›

So if you could tell me anything about Texas tunes or style, or point me to some sites or YT vids, that’d be amazing.
Also, if there are any Texan wedding tunes, that’d be extra-amazing!

Thanx y’all πŸ™‚

Re: Texas fiddle style/tunes?

Midnight On The Water is a pretty popular Texas Fiddle Tune:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XahhzJU18os

and Tom and Jerry as played by the same fiddler :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KF4xn3-_hyQ

O’Connor recorded his first album when he was 12 and it’s a gem, and he got better from then on!
I don’t know a lot about this fiddler,Amanda Kerr, but I just love a Texan version of "Sally Johnson"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9VDidN3vFbw

and Byron Berline makes a great job of " Sally Goodin"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zszJMroJIwY

There’s also a tune called "Beaumont Rag". Beaumont is in Texas?

Well the nice easy tunes we here in S Texas play on the fiddle include, ‘Faded Love’ Bob Wills; ‘Ootpec Waltz’; ‘Tenessee Waltz’; Slightly challenging ’ Ragtime Annie’. ‘Ashokan Farewell’.