How important is it to learn tunes properly? And what is

How important is it to learn tunes properly? And what is

First discussion I’ve started for a while, but I hope this gets to the nitty gritty. (I’ll do my best not to be too preachy)

Posted .

Re: How important is it to learn tunes properly? And what is

I always thought 90% was close enough until I started playing with a "proper" band. Now I learn tunes note for note with the piper, harpist and flute player. This is not to say we play things the same all the time as we arrange things and develop variations to keep things from getting too samey. Nowadays I ornament with the rest of the band and not when I feel like it (officially…if any of them are reading this…if they are not I may stick the odd triplet in when they’re not looking). I did get a bit ticked off when I first joined as I was always getting told my version of the tune was "wrong". I soon got the message though and the band sounds a whole lot better as a result: crisper and not blurred at the edges. So "properly" in this case is the same as the rest of the band.

Re: How important is it to learn tunes properly? And what is “properly” anyway?

If you play with the same people each time, it is worth standardising.
A bit of blurring is not a problem on the odd tune - one can be too much of a perfectionist.
There is no proper version of any tune, that’s what distinguishes us from classical players - but even a bit of fuzziness on the same tune is better than the cacophony of those great players who improvise at sessions because they’re too good to stop themselves from playing tunes they don’t know. Which, again, is not quite the same as trying to pick the tune discreetly until you get it right.

And Gill, refreshingly, your new discusssion is not preachy. Well done!

Posted by .

Even worse, Cath, are those who KNOW a tune too well and think they are too good for it. They then go and spoil with with too many of their own variations and ornaments.