Session etiquette: what to do when a guitar-player just won’t keep quiet?

Re: Session etiquette: what to do when a guitar-player just won’t keep quiet?

Chris Smith has some recommendation for session dynamics. I have no experience myself dealing with that kind of problem. Good luck, hope it won’t get too unpleasant. My advice is to talk to this guy sooner rather than later…

http://members.home.com/eskin/sessiondynamics.html

My experience is that subtle hints rarely get through to the offender in these cases. But most of us would rather not risk hurting someone’s feelings by suggesting that they tone down their playing.

What to do? Try the direct route first (and sooner than later). Talk to him one-on-one in private. Tell him that you speak on behalf of several people at the session who agree that his contribution to the session would be more welcome if he controlled his volume and speed. A rule of thumb to suggest is that if he can’t hear everyone else in the circle, he’s playing too loud. (Bear in mind that some musicians really do have hearing problems—he may be playing loudly because he can’t hear himself very well. If that’s the case, he needs medical attention and possibly a hearing aid, which will extend both the quantity and quality of his playing years.)

If he continues to play too loudly or speeds up, stop playing at that point and tell him that what he’s doing is disrupting the session for everyone else.

If all else fails, agree as a group to cordially but firmly tell him he’s not welcome until he learns to play WITH people instead of against them. If a person can’t learn to blend in, and his or her playing disrupts the session, then the whole circle is better off without them.