Counter-melody on irish bouzouki

Counter-melody on irish bouzouki

Hi everyone! I’m new to GDAD tuning and I want to learn how to create good counter-melodies, are there anyone that can help me with tab/video etc…?
Thank you!

Posted by .

Re: Counter-melody on irish bouzouki

Counter-melodies aren’t usually associated with this music, except sometimes in performing groups that have worked-out arrangements. If you play counter-melodies, good or not, in sessions, you run a high risk of irritating your companions. Irish music is usually played with just a unison melody and (sometimes) backing harmonies and percussion.

If you are still interested, listen, listen, listen to recordings where that’s done, and get to where you can imitate it. You’re essentially talking about improvisation, which requires 1) an absolute command of your instrument, to where you can think a passage in your head and immediately play it on your instrument, and 2) being able to think of good passages to play. The first is just practice, the second relates to your understanding of the style you’re playing in as well as your own personal musicianship, which despite what I said above should always be involved in anything you play, anyway.

I don’t want to be discouraging if you have a genuine interest; I just want you to be aware of what to expect if you play counter-melodies in Irish sessions where people are used to just playing melodies in the traditional manner.

There are no good counter-melodies, in my opinion. If you want to create some, you’ll have to do it from scratch.
Actually, I’ve just thought of one — Ballintore Fancy has a rather splendid counter-melody, but then it is a somewhat unusual tune, in that each part can be played as harmony to the other, and either part with the counter-melody; which is why, I suppose, it is called a ‘Fancy’.

Posted by .

It’s important to say that with "counter melodies" I mean styles of accompaniment like Planxty, Danù, Dervish…

Posted by .