Does this have a name?

Does this have a name?

Various types of fiddle music have their signature bowing patterns, (e.g. bluegrass has the double shuffle, Georgia shuffle, etc) that everyone immediately recognizes and attributes to that genre. Seems to me that if ITM has such a bowing pattern, it’s some variation of the following rocking pattern:

ecgc acgc

or

fdad bdad …. etc, you pick the string and key

Something along these lines appears in a huge proportion of reels and when I hear it I think "Irish". It’s such a common recurring theme, seems like it ought to have a name other than "you know, that thing where you rock the bow back and forth across two strings a fifth apart while holding a constant note on the lower string and …"

All the different ornaments have their own names, so what’s this type of phrase called? (I’m completely self taught, so it may be that I’m just ignorant) If it hasn’t got one, maybe someone should cook one up and claim their place in ITM history.

Re: Does this have a name?

As far as i know, it doesn’t have a name. and there’s many ways to play it too…

possibly the most recognizable way would the "Sligo shuffle"… (ask der Sensai to explain)

Maybe it could be called sommat along the lines of the "Irish Pop/Snap/….."

-P

I’d refer to it as ‘FABA with a D pedal note’, but yeah, it should have a name, a trip up the stairs maybe?

Actually, contrary to my original post, it isn’t so much the bowing pattern that’s distinctive because, as Padraig points out, there are lots of ways to bow this, it’s the pattern of notes that hits the ear and that’s found in so many tunes.

Yeah I wuz wondering the same thing. "reel thingy"? There was a big long post about how to bow it a while ago. "that high low phrase in reels" I think.

Posted by .

I’ve heard it called a "rocking pedal", by someone with more knowledge of music theory than me. Sounds good, anyway.

Posted by .