My first performance was a disaster! Help me avoid a repeat?

My first performance was a disaster! Help me avoid a repeat?

Hi everyone - I picked up the tin whistle a few months ago and I’m loving it. I’d really appreciate some tips and pointers about beginning to perform and deal with nerves though.

To give you some background, a couple of months ago I’d learned a passable rendition of Roisin Dubh and went to perform in front of 50 or so people. I’ve played piano for over a decade, have experience speaking to big crowds, and put in a lot of practice leading up to the performance, but it was a disaster! I played into a microphone set up for a singer (so I tried playing horizontally into it), overblew, squawked repeatedly and blanked - something I’ve never done before.

I’m thinking of giving it another go in about a month to prove to myself I can do it and to share how fun it is to play tin whistle. But I won’t unless I’m confident it’s not going to be de ja vu! Could you please share some tips to help me?

Re: My first performance was a disaster! Help me avoid a repeat?

I’m not an experienced tin whistle player, but i’m pretty good with microphones. You need someone experienced working the sound board that knows acoustics. That would make a huge difference.

Always do sound checks! It’s best to know before a performance if there’s too much pick-up, too much reverb, too much low-end/high-end, etc.

Learning a sound board isn’t hard, it’s like looking at keys on the piano. Everything is just repeated several times. Then you could do it yourself and learn along the way.

Microphone types are pretty important too, depending on the kind of performance you’re doing.

Sorry to hear you had a terrible time your first performance, I hope this helps! You’re a champ for giving it another try!

Very well done you for having a go.

IMHO!!! In general…..
Performance is like concrete, it takes time to set, and if it hasn’t set properly it will crack under pressure.