advice for mother of a very keen beginner

advice for mother of a very keen beginner

hi,

Can anyone advise me on an affordable very beginners flute? my daughter is 8, has been playing the whistle for a long time and is incredibly keen to move on. I am a percussionist, therefore know nothing of materials etc, should it be wood? What’s with all the nameless flutes from Pakistan? Any good? should i go for 6 or 8 holes? please, any help much appreciated…i hit things…i know nothing….

anne

Re: advice for mother of a very keen beginner

are Tipple flutes any good? Not wooden……?? Help?

I’m no expert on the subject, but from what I’ve reading here it seems that polymer flutes such as tony dixons are good! Polymer is a kind of plastic, so I’m guessing that they don’t require as much care as wooden flutes, it seems like a good option for your little daughter.
I’m sure more knowledgeable people will comment on this too and give you their better informed opinions :)

Martin Doyle makes fantastic two piece Blackwood flutes for 600 euro and are suitable for beginners , they have as loud a sound as any fully keyed flutes at the moment . 600 euro may seem expensive but if you start on a decent flute you are likely to Improve faster than starting on cheap plastic flutes as they have a limit to what sound you can get out of them . I’ve been playing one for the past four years !

STAY AWAY FROM PAKISTANI FLUTES!!!

I think the best flute for the money is Casey Burns’ Folk Flute. They are high quality, low price, easy embouchure, and ergonomically friendly for a child’s hands (or smaller hands). http://caseyburnsflutes.com/ff.php

I have played one for years, and I am very glad that was the flute I started out with.

I second Martin Doyle, but I would recommend one after your child has shown dedication to the flute and wanting to stay in the music for the long run.