Reading the ABC notation on ‘The Session’

Reading the ABC notation on ‘The Session’

Hi folks, was wondering if someone could help me please? I have been playing tin whistle/flute for over 30 years and in all that time I never learned one tune from sheet music! However, I have taken a fancy to a couple of tunes on this website and my simple mind cannot work out what to many of you would be a very simple matter! When I look at how the ABC notation is written on this site, for example, G2A Bc/2d/2G | Bc/2d/2e g3 | as the first two bars. My questions are (please don’t laugh at my stupidity) - are the upper lower cases referring to high and low octaves and are the numbers referring to the number of beats for the note or does it mean repeat the note that many times? I would be greateful if someone could give my an ‘idiot’s guide’ to how I am meant to be reading this! Many thanks.

Re: Reading the ABC notation on ‘The Session’

Capital letters are low octave, non-capital letters are up an octave from the capital letters. The numbers refer to the number of beats for the note. I only really know the very basics of abc notation, so that basically constitutes my entire knowledge of abc notation :). There are some helpful tutorials on this site:
http://abcnotation.com/learn

I suggest you learn to read normal musical notation. ABC seems needlessly clunky and complicated. Those who already know it may not think so, but if you don’t read either, why not learn standard notation rather than a system that I have never seen before getting involved with ITM?

Posted by .

Thanks for the replies - that was quick! I only looked at the abc notation thinking it was a shortcut but I think you are right Ailin, probably better to go with standard sheet music. Thank you Robert too!

TheSession.org usually also provides a Midi recording of each tune. If that is available, you can hear the basics of the tune, keeping in mind that this is a very mechanical reproduction of the dots.