Adults learning Irish Music In the US

Adults learning Irish Music In the US

Whats the best way? No sheet music, just learn by ear, at sessions and off CD’s ( as some purists would tell you.)… or read the sheet music and commit to memory?
My thoughts …by ear is just fine, if you’re a little Kid in Ireland and pick it up that way from day one, but here in the States an Adult will never be able to assimilate such a large body of music that way and to learn this music in a reasonable time will mean picking a hundred or so tunes out of tunebooks and commiting them to menory….
BenS

Posted by .

Re: Adults learning Irish Music In the US

Learn by listening, watching, attending workshops or taking lessons. Sheet music is only good as a tool and secondary to learning by ear. Take it one tune at a time, don’t rush it. And remember to have fun, and enjoy the music — you are entering a musical world unique unto itself.

I was an adult when I started learning Irish music. I’m still an adult, I’m still learning Irish music, and traditional music from lots of other places, too. I learn some by ear, some from sheets. It’s convenient to be able to read music, but imagine yourself unable to talk unless you were reading the words off a page. Don’t be reliant on sheet music.