Whats most common with slip jigs?

Whats most common with slip jigs?

I’m fairly new to sessions and would like to know which is most common in sets. Slip Jigs with other Slip jigs or Slip jigs paired with jigs?
Ben

Posted by .

Re: Whats most common with slip jigs?

As a general rule, tunes of the same type are paired together. If you are really wanting to do a set with a slip jig like "Kid on the Mountain" followed by a jig like "Morrison’s" or something like that, just be sure you don’t do this if ever asked to play for dancers! To start out though, it might be nice to explore a variety of slip jigs (which are highly underplayed in my opinon) and see which ones go together well as sets. I’m sure folks here have some good sets to share. One that I like is "The Humours of Whiskey" followed by "Blast of Wind." Both are lovely tunes.

Slip jigs and double jigs can sound quite natural together in sets, since they are both made up of the same basic rhythmic units (3-quaver and crotchet quaver groupings) - more so than, for example, jig-reel sets, which sound to me more like performance pieces than session sets. Hardiman the Fiddler/Gander in the Pratie Hole is an example that works well.

But, as Violynnsey says, the norm is to place tunes of one type in a set. Slipping a slip jig into a double jig set, or vice versa, is living on the edge.

The following makes a nice set:

An Ceanabhain Bhana/An Phis Fliuch (pardon my Irish)/Drops of Brandy

I agree with violynnsey’s, they’re underplayed that is except for the same *over*played 4-5: kid on the mtn, butterfly, an phis, foxhunter’s.

I’m working on a "mixed" set right now: Oh Hag You Have Killed Me/Hardiman the Fiddler. I think they go very nicely. At my level I ain’t playing for dancers anytime soon.

There’s a nice set of three slip jigs on Tommy Peoples’ album "Waiting for A Call". Hardiman The Fiddler/Give Us A Drink of Water/Heels Over Head. Haven’t learned the second two yet but intend to at some point.