Irish reels shuffle

Irish reels shuffle

Hello.
The most interesting question for me now is a question of shuffle in Irish music. Let’s talk about reels.

(By shuffle I mean some movement of ‘eights’ to more ‘triplet’ pulsation. Not exactly like jazz shuffle but the idea is close. So really played ‘eights’ will sound a bit different. We can call it ‘swing’.)

It is easy to find some sort of such a shuffle in recordings of dance music bands. It’s also very easy to catch them in special ‘dancing music’ (which sounds a bit strange but it is comfortable to analyze).
It is easy to find it in upbeat dance music (which sounds a bit like country music).
But we also can see it in modern recordings, in bands that use a lot of 3-3-2 pulsation instead of upbeat in their accompaniment.
And even in very fast tunes - it is still there.

For myself - I’m not basically a soloist, more a bodhran and a guitar player but now I’m studying playing some banjo and used to play a whistle.
I want to understand the soloist play better and help the new guys to find the proper way to Irish reels.

So my question is
-what do you think about that?
- do you have any more interesting examples?
- how will it change on the other instruments (winds, for example)
- and what else could be useful for my little investigation?

Thank you so much.

Re: Irish reels shuffle

I’d never associated a 3-3-2 pulse with reels before - but I’ll probably never be able to listen to another reel now without hearing it.😉