Never too old

Re: Never too old

Wow. Thats also really sweet about his wife Ella. With all those years and memories of music, he would be a living treasure of knoweldge.

Posted by .

Well at half his age and a wife who supports me an me pipes, there’s hope yet… 😉

My sentiments also, mark. Shame the herald did do a sound file. I couldn’t locate anything after a quick websearch. I’d be interested to hear what he sounds like.

Well, it is a very nice article, but let’s keep in mind he started playing when he was six. I started playing when I was 50. I may indeed be too old, but God bless him still playing and continuing his love of music at 90.

Which instruments are the hardest to keep being able to play as one ages? (aging not from 20-40; but like from 60-80?) (I have a ways to go yet, thank you, but I’m looking ahead…)

Is it primarily the wind instruments that get harder? (how hard ARE pipes to play, lung capacity-wise? And are all you pipers non-smokers? yeah right…)
..or does the tendonitis/arthritis get the fiddlers, or box players…

I certainly know of musicians who have played well into their eighties. And I love how the gentleman above said he kept getting better and better.

Posted by .

Gena - if you are talking about the uillean pipes, lung capacity doesn’t come into it, as they’re bellows blown.

For a piper at 90, I would hope he’s way past 7 years practicing, 7 years learning, 7 years playing, and 7 years waiting for his set to be made LOL

Not quite there but gettin there sooner or later

Posted by .

It was a very cheering article and Danny, maybe one of us should try and get their hands on the man’s record - I think I’ll go for it, I’ve been learning a few Scottish tunes lately and I love them. I’m planning to go to Edinburgh with hubby later this year and he’s ok with the fact that I’ll try the sessions up there, so I want to be prepared.