Kathleen Nesbitt, Irish Fiddle Tutor

Kathleen Nesbitt, Irish Fiddle Tutor

Has anyone got the Irish Fiddle Tutor book and CD by Kathleen Nesbitt. I’m thinking of buying it but before I splash out I’d quite like to know what’s on the CD. And a few opinions about it! Thanks.

Re: Kathleen Nesbitt, Irish Fiddle Tutor

Yep I have it. The book is great if you want to learn some great tunes. The cd is a great advantage if you haven’t heard the tunes before. Kathleen plays all the tunes from the book. It can also be useful if you want to learn a couple of the tunes by ear. I only got it recently and didnt get much time to use it yet. It seems pretty good to me anyway and I’ve been playing fiddle for about six years.
Carrie*

Thanks Carrie this is really helpfull, just what I needed to know - I wasn’t sure how many of the tunes were on the CD, but if they’re all on there then that’s great and I’ll get myself a copy. Thanks again.

Kathleen managed to flog this (slightly discounted) to my girlfriend while at the Scoil Eigse last year!! It is, I think, better than many tutors (I haven’t seen the Matt Cranitch one) and has an introduction to things like modality as well as the usuall explanations of rhythm, ornaments, slurring and introductions to a number of tunes. The CD covers the exercises and tunes in the main section of the book, but it does NOT cover the tunes at the end of the book. The tunes are well played by Kathleen herself, and the bowing is clear enough to hear (by my ear anyway) and thus it is possible for me to pick up tunes I don’t know from the CD without using the book.

To me, particular strengths of this book include the tune section at the back because it has suggested bowing, the chapter on airs, and the bibliography / discography.