I love my Chieftain but….

I love my Chieftain but….

So, here’s the situation. I need some help selecting a whistle to replace my chieftain. If you want the background, read on. If not, skip to the bottom of the post and tell me what you think.

My background is early music (for which I have some very nice Mollenhauer Kynsekers). Until now, I have always used a recorder for folk (I’m sure many of you will have opinions on this, but now is not the time… 😉). Recently, my favourite folk recorder ‘died’. While I have now bought a lovely one second hand, it’s a bit quiet for gigs, (despite being expensive enough to sound good but not so expensive I can’t put it through it’s paces at weekly Ceilidhs). So, making the step to whistle.

The point is (finally) that I was given a chieftain high D (280104 KWL) by a friend a few years ago, who said that as a Trumpet player and opera singer I might get more use out of it than him. The lower octave is gorgeous, but I can’t sustain the breath for the high notes, and doing it for the duration of a Ceilidh might cause me to pass out. 🙂 I sense from some early snooping that this might be a common problem. On the one hand, it’s a chieftain and gorgeous, on the other, it’s a b****r to play.

So, I am looking for advice on the following

- A soprano D whistle with enough oomph for Ceilidh, but that’s not going to get me excommunicated from my pub session.
- Something that can be played energetically for about 3 hrs non-stop, and will stand a little overblowing.
- Upper price limit of about £30

I have tried a v. cheap Generation, but that was too far the other way…

I appreciate you must get loads of these shouts, so thanks for your time.

Re: I love my Chieftain but….