Glasgow reel (tamlins)

Glasgow reel (tamlins)

Is the Glasgow reel an overplayed, oh my god i can’t believe this guy is playing this god forsaken ,please make it stop type of tune? I recently found and sort of conquered it and really like it. But I’m fairly new to my two sessions and I am a fragile soul..I don’t like getting the eye roll.if you know what I mean..I have read various trains of thought on this tune. am the Rodney Dangerfield of banjo players just trying to get a little respect..(save the banjo jokes here).I did ask my session leader about irish washer women and he said it is absolutely no problem.so at the next session I started it and BAM! Instant eye roll.. Any thoughts??

Glasgow reel (tamlins)

Is the Glasgow reel an overplayed, oh my god i can’t believe this guy is playing this god forsaken ,please make it stop type of tune? I recently found and sort of conquered it and really like it. But I’m fairly new to my two sessions and I am a fragile soul..I don’t like getting the eye roll.if you know what I mean..I have read various trains of thought on this tune. I am the Rodney Dangerfield of banjo players just trying to get a little respect..(save the banjo jokes here).I did ask my session leader about irish washer women and he said it is absolutely no problem.so at the next session I started it and BAM! Instant eye roll.. Any thoughts??

Re: Glasgow reel (tamlins)

You can’t please everyone. If it’s an open session that allows any tune you want to play (sounds like it is) then I’d say go for it. I would probably avoid playing the same eye-roll-gaining tunes week after week but everything in moderation right?

Just out of curiosity is this the Rumson session?