Playing faster

Playing faster

I’ve been playing tenor banjo in Irish trad for about 15 years, and know a lot of tunes, but despair in the fact that am a slow player. Part of the problem is that I try to play really clean and include interesting ornamentation - it may sound better, but it slows me down. Even when I leave out some notes and drop the ornamentation I still struggle on reels faster than about 105 BPM, if that. Some advanced players I’ve asked have said that ‘you can’t rush it, you can’t force it, it just comes over time’. What do you think?

Posted by .

Re: Playing faster

They’re right. The key to speed of execution is deliberate preparation.

See here for a parallel in military science:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NLF_and_PAVN_battle_tactics#Attack_doctrine:_.22one_slow.2C_four_quick.22

If you do not lay the groundwork in a deliberate fashion, and build a firm foundation by taking your time in the planning and preparation phase, you cannot execute swiftly. A military operation will get bogged down in confusion; a musician will get bogged down in inefficiency and fogginess.

But as part of that deliberate preparation, there might be some technical adjustments you can make to get out of your own way.

With the tenor banjo a lot of it is right hand efficiency and economy of motion. It could be left hand economy of motion, but that problem seems a bit less common on banjo players.

If it’s a synchronization issue, the the way to fix it is to slow down even more.

Can you post a vid? Maybe we can ID what’s holding you back.

Also, you’ve got to be able to relax. If you’re nervous about going faster, then you’ll have a hard time relaxing. Sometimes it’s as simple as just, in the middle of a fast tune, telling yourself to relax. Or it might be a matter of replacing your note-by-note thoughts with images that suggest calming motion, like waves lapping against a shore.

Posted by .