slow sessions/ tune learning session in Dublin / Ennis / Miltown Malbay

slow sessions/ tune learning session in Dublin / Ennis / Miltown Malbay

Hey guys! i was wondering if you know of any slow sessions / tune learning sessions around Dublin city centre / Ennis and miltown malbay, as i will be there end june , till mid july , Yippeee! 🙂 i’d love to participate in a session (I’m not a beginner on my instruments, but it’s important to me that the session that’s welcoming and accessible .. especially for someone who CLEARLY looks like a foreigner/tourist , like me :P). Any advise would be much appreciated.

Re: slow sessions/ tune learning session in Dublin / Ennis / Miltown Malbay

Don’t under value yourself. Just stroll in any old session, say hello and ask to join in like you would normally!

I believe the Cobblestone in Smithfield has a slow session for learners one night a week, although I don’t know which night. If I have heard correctly there is a fee to attend, but I don’t know how much it is. If you have a facebook account I’d recommend contacting them through their page as they are quite active and have always responded quickly to me when I had questions about gigs there. It’s easy to get to, as there’s a Luas (tram) stop at Smithfield Square and you can see the pub from there.
https://www.facebook.com/thecobblestone

There’s also a slow session in Comhaltas headquarters in Monkstown. It’s further out of town, but still easy enough to get to - it’s only a short walk from Seapoint DART (train) station.
http://comhaltas.ie/locations/detail/culturlann/
http://comhaltas.ie/events/detail/moderate_session/

The Cobblestone that I mentioned above is worth stopping in to on any night of the week, even if you don’t get in to actually play you will almost always hear something good. There is normally music from around 7.30pm until closing time.